DeSoto County Sexual Battery Attorney
Any kind of criminal charge levied against you is something that you’re obviously going to have to deal with. A charge of sexual battery brings with it even more intricacies that you’ll have to take into account. If the charge you’re facing is in DeSoto County, then a DeSoto County sexual battery attorney should be on the top of your priority list. Trying to represent yourself or allowing a public defender to represent you can be costlier than you might initially imagine. That’s why it’s vital to your future that you invest in qualified defense attorney.
Sexual battery is defined as any sexual contact with an unwilling partner. In the state of Florida, this concept is broadened to include any sexual contact with a minor (regardless of consent). Obviously, the penalty for sexual battery in DeSoto County is more severe in cases in which the victim is under the age of consent. Other factors that can exacerbate the severity of the penalty include:
• Whether the victim was handicapped
• The relationship of the victim and the suspect
• The use of a weapon
• Threatening the victim
• Purposely incapacitating the victim
• The ability or inability for the victim to resist
• Being a member of law enforcement
Obviously, adding any of these aspects to a sexual battery charge is a negative to say the least. The only way to get adequate representation, however, is to employ the services of a defense lawyer for sexual assault in DeSoto County.
Why You Should Consult a DeSoto County Sexual Assault Attorney
In addition to the confusion inherent in criminal proceedings, there are a number of reasons that you should opt for a qualified DeSoto County sexual battery attorney. First of all, the risk of being convicted to life in prison is a very real possibility. Depending on the severity of the charge and the mitigating factors, the penalty for sexual battery in DeSoto County can get you a minimum of 5 years in prison. Florida also has a law on the books that prohibits sexual contact with a minor under any circumstances. That means that even an 18 year-old suspect could be charged with sexual battery if they had consensual sexual contact with a 17 year-old.
Beyond that, the designation of sex offender is something that’s going to stick with you for the rest of your life. It’s going to be associated with your name and your good standing, and it’s something that you’ll continually have to explain throughout the course of your life. A high-quality defense lawyer for sexual assault in DeSoto County can help you avoid this pesky designation, especially in cases that aren’t cut and dry.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (850) 423-0035