Stephen G. Cobb - Florida Criminal Defense Lawyer

Florida DUI Cases | Florida DUI Law


DO YOU NEED A PENSACOLA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY TO HANDLE YOUR DUI CASE?

Here are examples of actual DUI cases we have won. Note that there are many different types of trials.

Administrative Driver’s License Suspension – Cases Number 03-CTSA-988: Our client was charged with DUI and was threatened with administrative suspension of her Driver’s License. After a DUI implied Consent Hearing, her license was returned to her. Almost every DUI case has an Administrative Suspension In addition to the criminal traffic court suspension.

DUI (DUBAL) – Case Number 02-828-CTSA: Our client was charged with DUI with a breath test above.08. The first trial by jury ended with a mistrial when the State elicited improper testimony. In the second trial, our client was found Not Guilty. DUI case with a breath/blood/urine test is often DUBAL cases (Driving with Unlawful Blood Alcohol Level):

DUI (Bench Trial and Refusal) – Case Number 02-CY-294-S: Our client was charged with DUI (Refusal to Submit to a Bre3ath Test). He was found Not Guilty after a Bench Trial. A Bench Trial is a trial with judge but no jury. This is done very rarely, but there are times when it is the best way try a case.

DUI (Drugs) – Case Number 01-165A-DD-MM. Our client was charged with DUI. The State voluntarily dismissed the charges once it was shown that there was medical evidence that our client had no drugs in her system and an insufficient blood alcohol level. Thus a person can be charged with DUI even though they have NO alcohol in their system, but have drugs in their system.

DUI (Jury Trial) – Case Number 04-CTSA-2816: Our client was charged with Driving Under the influence and we won the DUI case itself after a trial by jury.

316.193 Driving under the influence: penalties.—
(1) A person is guilty of the offense of driving under the influence and is subject to punishment as provided in subsection (2) if the person is driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state and:

(a)The person is under the influence of alcoholic beverages, any chemical substance set forth in s.877.111, or any substance controlled under chapter 893, when affected to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are impaired;

(b)The person has a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood; or

(c)The person has a breath-alcohol level of0.08 or more grams alcohol per 210 liters of breath.

(2)(a)Except as provided in paragraph (b), subsection (3), or subsection (4), any person who is convicted of a violation of subsection (1) shall be punished:

1.By a fine of:
a.Not less than $250 or more than $500 for a first conviction.
b.Not less than $500 or more than $ 1,000 for a second conviction; and
2.By imprisonment for:
a.Not more than 6 months for a first conviction.
b.Not more than 9 months for a second conviction.
3.For a second conviction, by mandatory placement for a period of at least 1 year, at the convicted person’s sole expense, of an ignition interlock device approved by the department in accordance with s.3165.1938 upon all vehicles that are individually or joi8ntly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person, when the convicted person qualifies for a permanent or restricted license. The installation of such device may not occur before July 1, 2003.
(b) 1. Any person who is convicted is convicted or a third violation of this section for an offense that occurs within 10 years after a prior conviction for a violation of this section commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.775.083, or s. 775.084 In addition, the court shall order the mandatory placement for a period of not less than 2 years, at the convicted person’s sole expense, of an ignition interlock device approved by the department in accordance with s.316.1938 upon all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person, when the convicted person qualifies for a permanent or restricted license. The installation of such device may not occur before July 1, 2003.
2. Any person who is convicted of a third violation of this section for an offense that occurs more than 10 years after the date of prior conviction for a violation of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than $2,500 and by imprisonment for not more than 12 months. In addition, the court shall order the mandatory placement for a period of at least 2 years, at the convicted person’s sole expense, of an ignition interlock device approved by the department in accordance with s.316.1938 upon all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person, when the convicted person qualifies for a permanent or restricted license. The installation of such device may not occur before July 1, 2003.
3. Any person who is convicted of a fourth or subsequent violation of this section, regardless of when any prior conviction for a violation of this section occurred, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.775.083, or s. 775.084. However, the tine imposed for such fourth or subsequent violation may be not less than $ 1,000.
1(3) Any person:

(a)Who is in violation of subsection (1);

(b)Who operates a vehicle; and

(c)Who, by reason of such operation, caused or contributes to causing:

1. Damage to the property or person of another commits misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

2. Serious bodily injury to another, as defined in s. 316.1933, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.775.083, or s. 775.084.

3. The death of any human being or unborn quick child commits DUI manslaughter, and commits:

a. A felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.
b. A felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084, if :
(I)At the time of the crash, the person knew, or should have known, that the crash occurred; and
(II)The person failed to give information and render aid as required by s.316.062.
(4) Any person who is convicted of violation of subsection (1) and who has a blood- alcohol level or breath-alcohol bevel of 0.20 or higher, or any person who is convicted of a violation of subsection (1) and who at the time of the offense was accompanied in vehicle by person under the4 age4 of 18 year, shall be punished:
(a) By the fine of:

1. Not less than $500or more than $1,000 for a first conviction.

2. Not less than $1,000 or more than$2,000 for a second conviction.

3. Not less than $2,000 for a third or subsequent conviction.

(a)By imprisonment for:
1. Not more than 9 months for a first conviction.
2. Not more than 12 months for a second conviction.
For the purposed of this subsection, only the instant offense is required to be violation of subsection (1) by a person who has a blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level of 0.20 or higher.
I In addition of the penalties in paragraphs (a) and (b), the court shall order the mandatory placement, at the convicted person’s sole expense, of an ignition interlock device approved by the department in accordance with s. 316.1938 upon all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person for up to 6 months for the first offense and for at least 2 years for a second offense, when the convicted person qualifies for a permanent or restricted license. The installation of such device may not occur before July 1, 2003.

(5) The court shall place all offenders convicted of violating this section on monthly reporting probation and shall require completion of a substance abuse course conducted by a DUI program licensed by the department under s. 322.292, which must include a psychosocial evaluation of the offender. If the DUI program refers the offender to an authorized substance abuse treatment provider for substance abuse treatment , in addition to any sentence or fine imposed under this section, completion of all such education, and treatment. The referral to treatment, in addition to any sentence or fine imposed under this section, completion of all such education, and treatment is a condition of reporting probation. The offender shall assume reasonable costs for such education, evaluation, and treatment. The referral to treatment resulting from a psychosocial evaluation shall not be waived without a supporting independent psychosocial evaluation conducted by an authorized substance abuse treatment provider appointed by the court, which shall have access to the DUI program’s psychosocial evaluation before the independent psychosocial evaluation is conducted. The court shall review the results and recommendations of both evaluations before determining the request for waiver. The offender shall bear the full cost of this procedure. The term “ substance abuse” means the abuse alcohol or any substance named or described in Schedules I through V of S. 893.03 If an offender referred to treatment under this subsection fails to report for or complete such treatment or fails to complete the DUI program substance abuse education course and evaluation, the DUI program shall notify the court and the department of the failure, Upon receipt of the notice, the department shall cancel the offender’s driving privilege, notwithstanding the terms of the court order or any suspension or revocation or the driving privilege. The department may temporarily reinstate the driving privilege on a restricted basic upon verification from the DUI program that the offender is currently participation in treatment and the DUI education course and evaluation requirement has been completed. If the DUI program notifies the department of the second failure to complete treatment, the department shall reinstate the driving privilege only after notice of completion of treatment from the DUI program. The organization that conducts the substance abuse education and evaluation may not provide required substance abuse treatment unless a waiver has been granted to that organization by the department. A waiver may be granted only if the department determines, in accordance with its rules, that the service provider that conducts the substance abuse education and evaluation is the most appropriate service provider and is licensed under chapter 397 or is exempt from such licensure. A statistical referral report shall be submitted quarterly to the department by each organization authorized to provide services under this section.

(6) With respect to any person convicted of a violation of subsection (1), regardless of any penalty imposed pursuant to subsection (2), subsection (3), or subsection (4):

(a) For the first conviction, the court shall place the defendant on probation for a period not to exceed 1 year and, as a condition of such probation, shall order the defendant to participate in public service or a community work project for a minimum of 50 hours; or the court may order instead, that any defendant pay an additional fine of $10 for each hour of public service or community work otherwise required, if, after consideration of the residence or location of the defendant at the time public service or community work is required, payment of the fine is in condition of probation, order the impoundment or immobilization of the vehicle that was operated by or in the actual control of the defendant or any one vehicle registered in the defendant’s name at the time of impoundment or immobilization, for a period of 10 days or for the unexpired term of any lease or rental agreement that expires within 10 days. The impoundment or immobilization must not occur concurrently with the incarceration of the defendant. The impoundment or immobilization order may be dismissed in accordance with paragraph (e), paragraph (f) paragraph (g), or paragraph (h).

(b) For the second conviction for an offense that occurs within a period of 5 years after the date or a prior conviction for violation of this section, the court shall order imprisonment for not less than 10 days. The court must also, as a condition of probation, order the impoundment or immobilization of all vehicles owned by the defendant at the time of impoundment or immobilization must not occur concurrently with the incarceration of the defendant and must occur concurrently with the driver’s license revocation imposed under s. 322.28(2)(a)2. The impoundment or immobilization order may be dismissed in accordance with paragraph (e), paragraph (f) paragraph (g), or paragraph (h). At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive.

(c) For the third or subsequent conviction for an offense that occurs within a period of 10 years after the date or a prior conviction for violation of this section, the court shall order imprisonment for not less than 30 days. The court must also, as a condition of probation, order the impoundment or immobilization of all vehicles owned by the defendant at the time of impoundment or immobilization, for a period of 90 days or of the unexpired term of any lease of rental agreement that expires within 90 days. The impoundment or immobilization must not occur concurrently with the incarceration or the defendant and must occur concurrently with the driver’s license revocation imposed under s. 322.28(2)(a)3. The impoundment or immobilization order may be dismissed in accordance with paragraph (e), paragraph (f) paragraph (g), or paragraph (h). At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive.

(d) The court must at the time of sentencing the defendant issue and order for the impoundment or immobilization of vehicle. Within 7 business days after the date tat the court issues the order to impoundment of immobilization, the clerk or the court must sent notice by and to each person of record claming a lien against the vehicle.
(e) A person who owns buy was not operating the vehicle when the offense occurred may submit to the court a police report indicating that the vehicle was stolen at the time of the offense or documentation of having purchased the vehicle after the offense was committed from and circumvent the order and allow the defendant continued access to the vehicle, the order must be dismissed and the owner of the vehicle will incur no costs. I f the court denies the request to dismiss the order of impoundment immobilization, the petitioner may request an evidentiary hearing.

(f)A person who owns but was not operating the vehicle when the offense occurred, and whose vehicle was stolen or who purchased the vehicle after the offense was committed directly from the defendant ofr the defendant’s agent, may request and evidentiary hearing to determine whether the impoundment or immobilization should occur. If the court finds that either the vehicle was stolen or the purchase was made without knowledge or the offense, that the purchase had no relationship to the defendant other than through the transaction, and that such purchase would not circumvent the order and allow the defendant continued access to the vehicle, the order must be dismissed and the owner of the vehicle will incur no costs.

(g) The court shall also dismiss the order of impoundment or immobilization of the vehicle if the court finds that the family of the owner of the vehicle has no other private or public means of transportation.

(h)The court may also dismiss the order of impoundment or immobilization of any vehicles that are owned by the defendant but that are operated solely by the employees of the defendant or any business owned by the defendant.

(i) All costs and fees for the impoundment or immobilization, including the cost of notification, must be paid by the owner to the vehicle or, if the vehicle is leased or rented, by the person leasing or renting the vehicle, unless the impoundment or immobilization order is dismissed.

(j)The person who owns a vehicle that is impounded or immobilized under this paragraph, or a person who has a lien of record against such a vehicle and who has not requested a review of the impoundment pursuant to paragraph (e),paragraph (f), or paragraph (g), may, within 10 fays after the date that person has knowledge of the location of the vehicle, file a complaint in the county in which the owner resides to determine whether the vehicle was wrongfully taken or withheld from the owner or lienholder. Upon the filing of a complaint, the owner or lienholder may have the vehicle released by posting with the court a bond or other adequate security equal to the amount of the costs and fees for impoundment or immobilization, including towing or storage, to ensure the payment of such costs and fees if the owner or lienholder does not prevail. When the bond is posted and the fee is paid as set forth in s.28.24, the clerk of the court shall issue a certificate releasing the vehicle. At the time of release, after reasonable inspection, the owner or lienholder must give a receipt to the towing or storage company indicating any loss or damage to the vehicle or to the contents of the vehicle.

(k) A defendant, in the court’s discretion, may be required to serve all or any portion of a term of imprisonment to which the defendant has been sentenced pursuant to this section in residential alcoholism treatment program or residential drug abuse treatment program. Any time spent in such a program must be credited by the court toward the term of imprisonment.
For the purposes of this section, any conviction for a violation of s.3
27.35, a previous conviction for the violation of former s. 316.1931, former.s.860.01, or former s.316.028; or a previous conviction outside this state for driving under the influence, driving while intoxicate, driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level, driving with an unlawful breath-alcohol level, or any other similar alcohol-related or drug-related traffic offense is also considered a previous conviction for violation of this section. However, in satisfaction of the fine imposed pursuant to this section, the court may, upon a finding that the defendant is financially unable to pay either all or part of the fine, order that the defendant participate for a specified additional period of time in public service or a community work project in lieu of payment of that portion of the fine which the court determines the defendant is unable to pay. In determining such additional sentence, the court shall consider the amount of the unpaid portion of the fine and the reasonable value of the services to be ordered; however, the court may not compute the reasonable value of services at a rate less than the federal minimum wage at the time of sentencing.
(7) A conviction under this section does not bar any civil suit for damages against the person convicted.
(8) At the arraignment, or in conjunction with any notice of arraignment provided by the clerk of the court, the clerk shall provide any person charged with a violation of this section with notice that upon conviction the court shall suspend or revoke the offender’s driver’s license and that the offender should make arrangements for transportation at any proceeding in which the court may take such action. Failure to provide such notice does not affect the court’s suspension or revocation of the offender’s driver’s license.
(9) A person who is arrested for a violation of this section may not be released form custody.
(a) Until the person is no longer under the influence of alcoholic beverages, any chemical substance set forth in s. 877.111, or any substance controlled under chapter 893 and affected to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired;
(b) Until the person’s blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level is less than 0.05; or
(c) Until 8 hours have elapsed from the time the person was arrested.
(10) The rulings of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles under s. 322.2615 shall not be considered in any trial for a violation of this section. Testimony or evidence form the administrative proceedings or any written statement submitted by a person in his or her request for administrative review is inadmissible into evidence or for any other purpose in any criminal proceeding, unless timely disclosed in criminal discovery pursuant to Rule 3.220, Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure.
(11) The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is directed to adopt rules providing for the implementation of the use of ignition interlock devices.
(12) If the records of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles show that the defendant has been previously convicted of the offense of driving under the influence, that evidence is sufficient by itself to establish that prior conviction for driving under the influence. However, such evidence may be contradicted or rebutted by other evidence. This presumption may be considered along with any other evidence presented in deciding whether the defendant has been previously convicted of the offense of driving under the influence.

This section of Florida law is provided for informational purposed only. This section dies not include case law construction and is not intended to constitute neither legal interpretation nor advice.

Stephen G. Cobb, Esq.

Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (850) 423-0035