Gilchrist County Sexual Battery Attorney
Facing a judge in Gilchrist County might seem like a walk in the park, but the implications are still pressing. This is especially true if you’re facing charges of sexual battery. It’s likely that you’ll find yourself in front of a judge in Trenton, and if you don’t have the benefit of high quality legal representation on your side, then you might feel like a fish out of water. It’s vital to understand that a defense lawyer for sexual assault in Gilchrist County can provide you with an invaluable assistance during your criminal court proceedings.
Although few people enjoy asking for help, it is a necessity in a situation like this. Opting for self-representation can be foolhardy at best and dangerous at worst if you don’t have a keen understanding of the legal system. On top of that, public defenders are generally not invested in all of their clients because they have little incentive. Thus, a Gilchrist County sexual battery attorney may be your best option when it comes to combating sexual battery charges.
Legal Definition of Sexual Battery/Assault
Throughout the state of Florida, sexual battery is most often described as someone engaging in sexual conduct without the consent of the other person. It can simultaneously be referred to as sexual assault or rape depending on certain conditions. The penalty for sexual battery in Gilchrist County ranges from case to case. Factors that play a role in sentencing include:
- The relationship of the victim to the suspect
- The victim’s age
- Whether a weapon or firearm was used
- Whether the victim was handicapped in any way
Obviously, there are conditions that can produce stiffer penalties for those involved. In fact, other conditions like being a member of the enforcement, drugging the victim, threatening the victim, or restricting their ability to resist contact can all produce heavier penalties in the long run. It’s important to understand these conditions so that you can be better prepared for the trial.
The actual penalties that you may receive include prison time and sex offender registration. Minor offenses don’t tend to get you a long stay in prison, but they can still be damaging to your reputation. In Florida, it’s technically illegal for an 18 year-old to engage in sexual contact with 17 year-old. Even so, this is something that could potentially get you labeled as a sex offender for the remainder of your life. A qualified defense lawyer for sexual assault in Gilchrist County can help you combat this charge. If you have repeated a sexual battery offense within five years of getting out of prison, then the minimum jail time is 5 years and the maximum is, of course, life in prison.
If you want to avoid that less than stellar arrangement, you’ll need an experienced Gilchrist County sexual battery attorney on your team. Stephen Cobb, founder of the Cobb Criminal Defense Law Firm of Florida, has been working in the state for over 2 decades and has amassed a wealth of knowledge along the way. If you are facing sexual battery charges in Gilchrist County, then you will want the best legal representation available to you. It’s never a good idea to risk your future in the name of saving a few pennies.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (850) 423-0035