Facing sexual battery charges in Osceola County is never an easy task. There are a lot of hoops that you’ll need to jump through, and you’ll need to provide yourself with adequate legal representation on top of that. Without proper legal representation, you may be underrepresented or not represented at all. That’s why an Osceola County sexual battery attorney is one of the most important people you can have in your life during criminal prosecution.
Of course, this is largely because your other options aren’t particularly great. You will have the option for either self-representation or a public defender. Representing yourself brings up a lot of issues in regard to self-incrimination. You also just won’t have the expertise that a qualified defense lawyer for sexual assault in Osceola County can give you. In addition to that, many public defenders leave a lot to be desired in terms of representation. This is mostly because they are forced to take on a number of different criminal cases at the same time and won’t be able to focus on your case entirely.
Understanding What A Sexual Battery Charge Means
In the state of Florida, sexual battery can broadly mean one of two things:
Both of these definitions come with their own attendant penalty for sexual battery in Osceola County. But, the penalty will often be unique to each criminal case. It is also dependent on a number of factors like age, the relationship of the victim and the suspect, whether a weapon was used, and whether the victim was handicapped.
The penalties can also be amplified if other factors are present at the time of the offense. For instance, drugging the victim, threatening the victim, restricting their ability to resist, and being a member of law enforcement are all factors that can make sentencing even harsher. In fact, if you have served a prison sentence for sexual battery and are convicted for the offense again within five years of your release, then you can get between 5 years to life in prison. A defense lawyer for sexual assault in Osceola County can provide you with ample understanding of the situation and a keen insight into judicial procedures.
The penalty for sexual battery in Osceola County can also be sex offender registration. Registering as a sex offender is something that will stay with you forever, regardless of where you live. You may even be forced to register as a sex offender if you enter into a plea deal. If you’re 18 years old and you engage in consensual sexual activity with a 17 year-old, then you also may still be subject to registration.
Stephen G. Cobb is a qualified Osceola County sexual battery attorney and he understands the intricacies of the charge and what it could mean to you. He has worked in the state of Florida for over 20 years and, in that time, has seen over 10,000 cases. The Cobb Criminal Defense Law Firm of Florida was created in 1990 and is primed to offer you top-notch legal representation. If you’re heading to the Osceola County Courthouse for a sexual battery charge any time soon, then you’ll want to have the Cobb Law Firm on your side.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (850) 423-0035