Pensacola Assault & Battery Lawyer
Florida law defines assault and battery crimes as any intentional physical violence, or threat of physical violence, toward another individual. Penalties for these charges can range anywhere from a day in jail to five years in prison.
At Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group, we provide legal representation to people in Pensacola and throughout Florida facing assault and battery charges. We use our experience and knowledge of Florida law, courts, and prosecutors to provide comprehensive legal services.
The Difference Between Assault and Battery
Many people do not know the difference between assault and battery. Assault charges relate to the threat of physical harm, while battery charges involve the infliction of physical harm. The penalties for each vary according to the severity of the case.
However, to fully understand the nature of each charge, we need to break down the specifics. Here are some common penalties associated with assault or battery charges.
A simple assault is a threat causing someone to fear impending violence. Simple assault penalties could be up to six days in jail and a fine of no more than $500. Simple assaults against special victims such as police officers or other public servants are a felony offense and carry harsher penalties.
Aggravated assault is more severe than simple assault. Aggravated charges involve a deadly weapon and a more severe threat of a violent crime. Aggravated assault charges can carry a penalty of a third-degree felony. Aggravated violent crimes are serious criminal charges that can affect your future.
Simple battery involves physical harm to a victim. A battery conviction typically involves violent physical contact. Simple battery is classified as a misdemeanor unless it involves a special victim, like law enforcement officers or persons over 65 years of age. Contact a Pensacola battery attorney to build a strong defense against battery charges.
Aggravated battery is similar to aggravated assault. It’s a more severe form of physical violence, typically involving a deadly weapon. Aggravated battery is a serious felony charge. Someone can be charged with aggravated battery if they use a deadly weapon or intentionally or knowingly cause permanent disability, permanent disfigurement, or great bodily harm.
Felony battery is any intentional and unconsented touching or striking that results in great bodily harm to another person. Those who’ve had a previous conviction for battery can also be charged with felony battery. A felonious battery offense is a third-degree felony, with maximum penalties of up to five years in prison.
To prove felony battery, the prosecutor must demonstrate beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant struck or touched another person intentionally or knowingly, and the defendant intentionally caused great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement.
If you have been charged with any of the above offenses, a Pensacola lawyer can offer assistance. Assault or battery penalties can have a devastating effect on your life, lead to hefty fines, and may even affect your ability to secure employment. The Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group is standing by to provide a strong defense against these serious criminal charges.
Assault and Battery Penalties
Many assaults and battery offenses are classified as misdemeanors in Florida. A simple assault crime is considered a 2nd-degree misdemeanor that carries a maximum sentence of 60 days of jail time and a fine of $500. Simple battery is a first-degree misdemeanor, and it can result in up to one year of jail time and a fine of $1,000.
When defendants have prior battery-related convictions, the penalties for a subsequent battery crime will be more severe and likely increase to a third-degree felony. If you’re found guilty of another battery offense, you could face up to five years of prison and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Aggravated battery offenses result in harsher penalties. Florida law classifies this offense as a second-degree felony, which leads to a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a fine of $10,000.
Aggravating charges result in more severe consequences. Typically, aggravated assault is considered a third-degree felony. This could mean instead of a lighter sentence in county jail, you would face time in state prison and steeper fines. Our law office has experience representing Escambia County defendants against these criminal charges. Contact us today.
When aggravated battery offenses are committed against law enforcement officials, the defendant can face first-degree felony charges. These charges carry a sentence of up to 30 years of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000. If the victim was a person over 65 years of age, the punishment includes minimum fines and prison time, restitution, and community service.
What to Expect If You’re Facing Assault and Battery Charges
A person charged with assault has multiple defense strategies to minimize their criminal culpability. Let’s consider when an alleged victim was the aggressor in an altercation, the defendant may state that they were acting in self-defense.
Florida law allows for self-defense. If a person is aggressive toward you, you have the right to use the force necessary to combat them. Sometimes, the alleged victim is the aggressor, and they can also face an assault or battery charge.
If you’re facing criminal charges in Escambia County, Pensacola, or surrounding Florida communities, then you should consider seeking the help of a defense attorney. You can defend yourself, but criminal law specialists recommend hiring a criminal law office with experience defending against assault accusations.
Plea Bargains and Deal Negotiations
When facing charges, the choice between accepting a plea or proceeding with the trial is critical. Consulting with a Pensacola criminal defense attorney before you decide could help maintain your innocence.
Accepting a plea bargain means you plead guilty for a reduced charge or sentence. If you choose to plead not guilty, that’s your right, and your case would proceed to trial. It won’t be easy to maintain your innocence in court. Having a skilled defense attorney at your side can be beneficial.
How a Pensacola Assault Lawyer Can Help
If you’re facing criminal charges, a conviction can drastically impact your life. Being convicted of a serious crime like assault or battery will destroy your reputation, ruin your finances, and strip away your freedoms.
It’s unwise for Florida citizens to face criminal disciplinary action without a criminal defense lawyer. If you need immediate counsel from a skilled Pensacola criminal lawyer, then contact the Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group right away.
In the event of an arrest or a criminal case, Pensacola’s premier criminal lawyers can provide an effective legal strategy. We use our experience facing tough cases to fight your charges. If you’ve been charged with an illegal offense, it is best to consult with a Pensacola law attorney.