Santa Rosa County Burglary Attorney
Facing criminal prosecution for any kind of crime is certainly confusing and nerve-wracking for anyone. Burglary is certainly a serious crime and it’s one that comes with a lot of attached penalties. Trying to go through the criminal proceedings on your own is a bad idea to say the least. There are many things that you have to know and it’s likely that you’re not cut out for defending yourself in a court of law. Thus, it’s important to contact a Santa Rosa County burglary attorney to ensure that you have the best chance of fighting these charges.
First, however, you’ll want to understand exactly what burglary means in the state of Florida. You might think of it as breaking into a building and stealing something, but it’s actually much more general than that. Burglary is defined simply as entering into a premises with the intent to commit unlawful activity. This sort of leaves a lot of gray area for prosecutors and defense attorneys to work with and you’ll want to make sure that you have a qualified defense lawyer for burglary in Santa Rosa County to help you combat these charges.
Burglary in the state of Florida comes in three different major categories:
- First degree felony
- Second degree felony
- Third degree felony
Obviously, a conviction in the first degree will prove to have a more severe penalty for burglary in Santa Rosa County. Of course, there are a number of variables that come into play when determining exactly what kind of charge will be levied against you. Some of these variables include:
- The type of structure broken into
- Whether a deadly weapon was used
- Whether the defendant committed another crime on top of burglary (e.g. assault or battery)
- Whether someone was in the structure at the time the offense occurred
All of this underscores the importance of a defense lawyer for burglary in Santa Rosa County. Relying on anyone but the best is a recipe for disaster and something that could certainly cost you in the long run. You have to keep in mind the potential penalty for burglary in Santa Rosa County and all the practical and monetary concerns those bring up. Depending on the degree of the felony conviction, a defendant could face up to life in prison and a $10,000 fine. Of course, that’s the strictest of penalties reserved for the most violent (first degree) offenders, but the law does not let most people off easily. It’s common to incur a prison sentence of between 5 and 15 years and a fine of around $5,000.
When you factor in standard costs and fees, you really can’t afford not to hire a Santa Rosa County burglary attorney. One attorney who can provide you with the expertise and understanding you need is Stephen G. Cobb. He has spent his entire career within the state of Florida and he’s been helping represent clients throughout the state for any number of criminal charges. He is, of course, knowledgeable in regard to burglary and will be able to help you fight and even lessen the charges you’ve incurred. If you’re facing burglary charges, then calling the Cobb Criminal Defense Law Firm should be high on your priority list.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (850) 423-0035