Union County Sexual Battery Attorney
Facing criminal prosecution for any charge in Union County is difficult to comprehend. When the charge in question is sexual battery, that confusion might be amped up a bit. There are several aspects of the judicial process that you need to be aware of before you enter the Union County Courthouse. An adequate defense lawyer for sexual assault in Union County can help you understand everything you need to know about this process.
Of course, your other options include representing yourself or permitting a public defender to do it for you. While this might be valid options for lesser criminal charges, they are something to be avoided during a trial surrounding sexual battery. There is too much at stake for you to rely on your own ingenuity or the overburdened, poorly paid public defender. A Union County sexual battery attorney gives you the best chance of seeing this through.
Still, having some knowledge under your belt isn’t a bad idea. You will obviously want to understand the definition of sexual battery as it pertains to your individual case. Broadly, sexual battery in the state of Florida is defined as any sexual conduct in which one of the partners is non-consenting. Consensual sexual activity with a person under the age of 18 also constitutes sexual battery. There are a lot of things that can amplify the penalty for sexual battery in Union County. For example:
- The age of the victim
- Using a weapon
- The victim being handicapped
- The relationship of the victim and the suspect
- Threatening the victim
- The suspect being a member of the law enforcement
- Drugging the victim
- Not allowing the victim to resist or get away
In Florida, ignorance to the law is not a valid defense. In fact, you can be charged with sexual battery even if you are 18 and you engaged in consensual sexual activity with someone who was only a year younger than you. A defense lawyer for sexual assault in Union County can clue you into all these variables so that you know what you’re up against.
When it comes to the actual penalty for sexual battery in Union County, you can expect two major issues:
- Jail time
- Registering as a sex offender
The length of any prison term is dependent on a number of variables (including those listed above). Repeat offenders might have the worst odds in a court room. If they are convicted for the same type of sexual battery crime within five years of being released from prison, then their sentence can range from 5 years to life. But, sex offender registration is something that will stick with you for life even when you are not behind bars. It’s a designation that requires explaining to all the important people in your life, and it can be doled out for small mistakes. An 18 year-old can be forced to register as a sex offender even if they engaged in consensual sex with someone a year younger than them.
All of this really highlights the necessity of a qualified Union County sexual battery attorney. Stephen Cobb of the Cobb Criminal Defense Law Firm can provide you with adequate legal representation. His experience spans over 2 decades and 10,000 cases. He has seen everything that the Florida justice system can throw at his clients. If you need a solid defense team or just legal consultation, contact the Cobb Law Firm as soon as possible.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (850) 423-0035