Pensacola DUI Attorney
Have you been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs? If you are facing DUI charges, an experienced DUI lawyer from the Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group, PLLC, can help you build a viable defense in court.
DUI Offenses & Penalties in Pensacola, Florida
Your risk of being charged with a DUI crime increases if you’re caught behind the wheel, and your blood-alcohol content (BAC) exceeds 0.08%. Being convicted of multiple DUI offenses can result in more severe punishment, so having a Pensacola DUI lawyer by your side is vital.
According to the state of Florida and Florida Statute Chapter 316, Section 193, you can face a DUI conviction if you have done both of the following:
- Operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Have a blood-alcohol content of 0.08 or more
The penalties that you may face depend on the severity of the offense, whether this is your first offense, and whether anyone was injured or killed. Generally, the penalties increase considerably on conviction of a second or subsequent offense. Contact our law firm to improve the odds of a favorable outcome for your case. If we cannot have your charges dropped, we may recommend you negotiate a plea or battle it out in court.
Penalties if You Have Had Prior DUI Convictions
Depending on whether this is your first DUI offense or you have had prior DUI convictions, you may face the following penalties:
- Fines: A first offense can result in fines between $500 and $1,000, while a second DUI offense can result in fines between $1,000 and $2,000. A third or fourth DUI faces a $5,000 fine.
- Jail: A first offense can result in a maximum jail time of six months, while a second offense can result in nine months. A third or fourth DUI carries a jail time of five years.
- Driver’s license suspension: A first offense may result in a driver’s license suspension for a minimum of 180 days. A second offense within five years of the prior DUI conviction can result in a suspension of five years. A third or fourth DUI can result in a ten-year suspended license.
- Ignition device: A first offense may necessitate an ignition interlock device for six months, while a second offense has a mandatory installation period of one year. A third or fourth DUI can result in an ignition interlock device installation for two years.
If a drunk driving accident has resulted in property damage or bodily injury, it may result in separate enhanced penalties.
We Can Help You Keep Your License
Your driver’s license is typically suspended during your DUI arrest and replaced with a ten-day temporary permit. After ten days, you may not get your driver’s license back for at least six months or longer, depending on variables in your case.
However, there is a small window during these ten days where you can request a hearing regarding your driver’s license suspension. Our DUI lawyers can represent you in a hearing before the DMV. We will fight to get your driver’s license reinstated as quickly as possible under the law so that you never have to suffer undue hardship from a suspended license. In the meantime, we will request a hardship license that allows you to drive to work, school, or grocery shopping.
The Burden of a DUI Conviction in Pensacola, Florida
Without a Pensacola criminal attorney to protect your rights, you are much more likely to end up convicted, even if it’s your first DUI offense. A conviction can carry colossal consequences that can impact your future. Even if a Pensacola prosecutor offers a plea agreement, it is still considered a conviction.
If you are facing a DUI charge, you may need to handle penalties such as:
- Deportation: Green card holders could lose their privileges if they are convicted
- International travel: Some countries, like Canada, may not allow you entry if you have a DUI conviction
- Employment: Since Florida is an at-will state, your boss can fire you for getting a DUI. Additionally, it can be difficult to find gainful employment with a criminal record.
- Education: Some admission policies may make it challenging to apply if you have a criminal record.
- Custody: You may lose your parental control after multiple DUI offenses. Family law judges have the discretion to assign custody, even after a first DUI offense.
- Securing a loan: Some loan applications will deny the process if you have a record. On top of that, your credit could be affected due to the financial cost of a DUI.
Some Little Known DUI Facts
Did you know that refusing to take a DUI breath test can result in the suspension of your license? Under Florida’s implied consent law, you had already consented to give breath, urine tests or both when you got your license. If you refuse to do so, you will basically renege on the deal. Once you get arrested for DUI, your officer will read you the implied consent warning from a prepared text. If you refuse and it’s your first time, your license will be suspended for one year and 18 months if you have already refused in the past.
You don’t have to be driving to be charged with a DUI. Since drivers impaired due to alcohol or drugs are not allowed to have physical control of a motor vehicle, you may be arrested for DUI if you are found sleeping in your car and your keys are in the ignition.
Moreover, even if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is under 0.08, the law enforcement officer may still arrest you if you appear impaired from drugs or alcohol.
Interestingly, if your personal property exceeds $2,500 in value, you will not qualify for a public defender. This leaves the majority of drivers in Pensacola, Florida with just two options: hire a DUI defense lawyer or face the prosecutor without assistance.
Everyone can benefit from hiring a Pensacola DUI lawyer to fully understand DUI laws and fight for their rights. Thus, it is imperative to seek legal help from a DUI lawyer at Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group, PLLC, to significantly improve your chances of having your DUI case dismissed or obtaining a plea deal. Contact our law firm as soon as possible to get back to your life!
How an Experienced Pensacola DUI Attorney Makes a Difference
The law applies to everyone equally, but how it’s practiced depends on the DUI defense lawyer who is advocating for you. A Pensacola DUI lawyer’s experience, knowledge, and networking could make the difference between a year in jail or a clean record. For most people, their personal freedom and ability to drive are worth hiring one of our professional and competent Pensacola DUI lawyers.
The state of Florida takes a drunk driving offense very seriously, and there is no point in risking your freedom and life. Your Pensacola DUI lawyer can help you fight your driving drug charges, including the administrative suspension of your driver’s license. When you reach Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group, PLLC, we will represent you during your Formal Review hearing so that you can obtain a hardship license allowing you to continue driving to work.
The first vital step to your DUI defense in Pensacola is to contact an experienced DUI attorney. It’s essential that you fight any allegations against you because of the severe ramifications that can result from a conviction. The best possible outcome is that the court and prosecutor drop their charges, but this only happens if the prosecutor does not have enough evidence against you.
Some reasons why they may drop their charges against you include entrapment, illegal search and seizure, inaccurate breathalyzer test results, and lack of probable cause. In these cases, the prosecutor may decide to drop the drunk driving charges down to reckless driving, hoping to strike a plea deal.
Need a Pensacola DUI Attorney? Seek Help from Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group, PLLC,
At Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group, PLLC, a Pensacola DUI attorney will ask the judge to throw out any evidence illegally obtained, which can weaken their case and strengthen your defense. Having an experienced criminal attorney by your side can help decrease the DUI charges against you for reckless driving, significantly reducing fines and penalties.
If you refuse to perform the field sobriety exercises, you are not facing any criminal penalty. You have the right to refuse any field sobriety tests that law enforcement may try to require. Refusing to perform these sobriety tests forces law enforcement officers to make a decision on arresting you based on other evidence presented to them.
If you or a loved one have been charged with a DUI charge, it’s imperative that you contact your Pensacola, FL attorney as soon as possible. Time is of the essence. You only have ten days from the date of your arrest to get your license reinstated.
Call Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group, PLLC right away so we can help you fight your charges. A DUI conviction can follow you for the rest of your life. Get in touch, and we will work hard to clear your record and reduce your charges.
Should I take a plea bargain for DUI in Pensacola, Florida?
Due to Florida’s harsh DUI penalties, it may be in your best interest to agree to a plea deal with the prosecutor. By doing so, you may avoid severe penalties by pleading guilty to your DUI charge. However, prior to a plea deal, it is vital to discuss your issues with an experienced DUI attorney. They will advise on what is best to do and whether the plea deal makes any sense in your case.
How much does it cost to reinstate my driver’s license after a DUI conviction in Florida?
If you are seeking a full reinstatement, you must be prepared to take the state’s required exam. You will need to pay some fees, such as an administrative fee of $130 and a revocation fee of $75. Most likely, you will have to pay a basic license fee.
Separately, to get your driver’s license back, you need to prove that you have auto insurance, so make sure that your insurance agent sets your bodily liability insurance at $10,000 per person and $20,000 for each occurrence.
Is a DUI a felony in Florida?
Under Florida law, a first or second DUI without any other aggravating factors is considered and prosecuted as a misdemeanor offense. However, if the impaired driver has caused severe bodily injury or death to another person, the first and second DUI can be charged as a felony.
If you’ve faced or already received a DUI conviction in Florida, your DUI stays on the record for 75 years, without the chance of being expunged.
Contact Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group, PLLC Today
No one plans to be charged or arrested for a DUI, but if that happens, you need to hire a DUI attorney right away. At Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group, PLLC, our DUI attorney provides reliable legal services in Pensacola, FL. We understand your DUI legal issues and will provide appropriate solutions.
Rely on Florida Criminal Defense Legal Group, PLLC, for honest and prompt legal representation if you have operated or drove under the influence. Call us today at 850-423-0035 to build a solid defense.